2022 Masao Horiba Awards Award Details

About Masao Horiba Awards

The Masao Horiba Award was established in 2003, to support scientists and experts who are devoting themselves to research and development that will generate innovative technology in analysis and measurement. It also aims to strengthen the position of measurement technologies within the scientific and industrial world. The field for the award is decided each year with a focus on the principles and fundamental technologies fostered by HORIBA, and the award highlights unique research and development with the findings and potential that deserves a global recognition.



Eligible fields

Analytical and measurement technologies that contribute to the use of hydrogen for a decarbonized society

Screening Committee

Chairperson

YAMAJI Kenji

President, Research Institute of Innovative Technology for the Earth (RITE), Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo Green Innovation Strategy Meeting

Judges

Scott SAMUELSEN

Professor

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California, Irvine

ISHITANI Osamu

Professor

School of Science, Chemistry, Tokyo Institute of Technology Specially Appointed Professor, Department of Chemistry, Graduate School of Advanced Science and Engineering, Hiroshima University

ISHIHARA Tatsumi

Professor

Deputy Director, International Institute for Carbon Neutral Energy, Kyushu University Principal Professor, Department of Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Engineering Department of Bioengineering, Kyushu University

SATOKAWA Shigeo

Professor

Faculty of Science and Technology, Seikei University

MIZUNO Yusuke

Department Manager, Alternative Energy Conversion Department, Business Incubation Division, HORIBA, Ltd.

HANAKI Yasunari

Manager, New Energy Technology, Alternative Energy Conversion Center, Business Incubation Division, HORIBA, Ltd.

Masao Horiba Awards Winners



Dr. SATO Katsutoshi Designated Associate Professor Department of Chemical Systems, Graduate School of Engineering, Nagoya University

[Research Theme]

Design of Novel Catalytic Nitrogen Reduction Sites Based on Atomic-Resolution **Electron Microscopic Analysis**



Dr. TAKAHASHI Yasufumi Professor. Department of Electronics, Graduate School of Engineering, Nagoya University

[Research Theme]

Development of the Electrochemical Imaging Technology for Visualizing Catalytic **Active Site**



Dr. NAKAMURA Takashi Associate Professor Institute of Multidisciplinary Research for Advanced Materials, Tohoku University

[Research Theme]

Development of Electrochemical Techniques for Defect Engineering on Advanced **Energy Materials**

Honorable Mention Winner



Dr. TAKAHASHI Yukina Associate Professor International Institute for Carbon-Neutral Energy Research (I²CNER), Kyushu University

[Research Theme]

Development of a Highly Efficient Hydrogen Generation System by Plasmon-Induced Charge Separation Using Sunlight as an Energy Source



Dr. Helge Sören STEIN Tenure Track Professor, Institute for Physical Chemistry (IPC) & Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

[Research Theme]

Data Driven Acceleration of Materials Discovery Through Integrated Correlative Spectroscopy, Synthesis, and Experimentation

^{*} Editorial note: This content in based on HORIBA's investigation at the time of the award unless otherwise stated.